blogger challenge: are you a skin whore?

The phrase “skin whore” is bandied about a lot in SL. But what makes a skin whore? Let me tell you about me, and we can determine if I am a good example. (Meila says: you are a skinwhore!) I tend to agree.

This avatar is my third, though it is my “main.” She is just over a year old,  created on June 23 2009. And on that auspicious day I purchased a skin. Since then I have bought skins on an almost weekly basis (some times multiples in a day or week) and I looooooove them. Demo’ing skins is something I do DAILY. I do it for fun, whether I want to buy or not. I am a member of many skin groups, some paid, some not. I am obsessed with skins. It’s my absolute favorite thing to buy in SL. I change them for outfits, I change them on whims, based on my moods, the event I’m going to… Just for any reason at all.

You might say that buying one skin a week is a little excessive. Now let’s do some math! I rounded off my avatar’s age in weeks: 66. If I only received ONE skin per week, that would be 66 skins. And you would call that excessive? Yes? Perhaps?

As of today, my avatar has NINETY TWO unique skins in her inventory.

For the sake of this challenge, I want to explain what I mean by “unique skins.”

1. One face OR makeup line as determined by the creator

A popular example would be Curio. Curio makes “faces” and also “makeup lines.” I own Curio June in 2 lines, in 2 tones. That means I purchased (really) 4 fatpacks from Curio of the June face. June 1 and 2 in Acorn, and June 1 and 2 in Moonbeam. For the sake of this exercise though, I am counting this as only 2 skins, because I am not considering the separate tones as unique skins. The separate Makeup Lines however, are being counted as Unique Skins. None of this pesky detail will be important to you if you only buy skins in one tone, or never fatpack, etc.

So here is the challenge:

  • How many unique skins do you own?
  • How old is your avatar?
  • Do you consider yourself a skin whore, or are you a skin prude?
  • Tell us about your skin buying personality, because it’s a topic I find fascinating.
  • A picture to demonstrate your skin inventory would be appreciated, but take it from me: it’s time consuming! A picture is NOT REQUIRED, YO! <3 lol
  • Reply here with a link to your entry, if you participate. :D

Group gifts denoted with little stars. You will need to view it large on Flickr for the full impact, and to see the brand names. :s

I look forward to hearing if anyone is ready to join me on Skin Whore Island!!! =P

32 thoughts on “blogger challenge: are you a skin whore?

  1. I’m not sure how many skins I have, but I don’t think I’ve ever bought a fatpack of skins. I typically go for pale or fantasy skins. My av is 3 years old (I think)…maybe I should check that. Yes, 3 years old, and I have about 250 skins, not counting those for tiny avs and other costume-y things. Many were free, many were in the 50L range (thank you, Fifty Linden Fridays and Project Themeory!), many were found through hunts, and many were found via fabfree.wordpress.com and secondlife24h.com. I have only very rarely bought a full-price skin, and even then I think the most I have spent on one skin is $L900 at Redgrave a couple of years ago. I have become addicted, however, to Heartsick skins–I love the pale skins because they aren’t gray and yet they manage to capture the gothy/lolita image that I like. Plus, I like the freckle and beauty mark and cleavage options in each skin (ranging from no cleavage to mid to full cleavage, with freckle/beauty mark options for each). I think the second most expensive skin I bought was from Heartsick, at $L500 (I think they are $L750 now). I’m most likely to go in for a cute skin if it’s on a special sale or on a MM or in a hunt. I switch my skins pretty much daily or every few days, depending on the look I want. My favorite fantasy skins are from Mynerva and Skinthesis. I return again and again to the one from Mynerva that I got in the Platinum Hunt, and I’ve only ever bought the ones on sale at Skinthesis. But yes–I think I do qualify as a bit of a skin whore. I don’t have enough skins to change every day and be wearing a new one each day for a year, but if you include my tinies and costumes, then I could probably change every day for a year and a half without repeating. :-P

  2. Pingback: The skins that I’m in | Everyday Ash

  3. bunny, i really enjoyed looking at your skins! my favorites are uhmm.. well i was looking out for the asian skins, i love the dr life and demon cake (where is that?!!) on you!!

    meh, beautiful post!! I wish I could do my skins but i’m lazy xD plus i might throw away the ones i didn’t like any more lol!

  4. Pingback: { bunny’s blogger challenge } « ❤ sℓahoℓic | open.book to my everyday.ℓooks

  5. Pingback: Yes Bunny, I’m a skin whore… « Daily Roo…

  6. Pingback: Hey, sister Ray[FreebieLook] « ZombiePopcornSL

  7. So I just finished the tedious “photoing” part of this challenge lol! And ummm. omg. I can’t give up now. I’m too far in. But I will tell you that I have over 870 uinque skins. My av is four years old. :) I can’t resist. As soon as I finsh these monstrous collages, I’ll have them posted for ya :)

  8. Pingback: Hey sister RayFreebieLook] | Secondnights.com

  9. Fabulous Challenge!

    I shall not, however, be partaking. Last count of my skins I had over 10k, yes some of those were variants with freckles, diff cleavages etc, but I have tons boxed up too, I rezzed in 2004… so umm.. yeah! LOL

  10. Pingback: blogger challenge: skin whore « The Black Blogger

  11. Firstly – what a great challenge! :D I’m gonna do it just as soon as I’m done *cleaning* my skins folder. I have so much crap in there XD

    Secondly – Gah, you look so good in all those skins!

    Thirdly – I’ve been on a skin quest for a new skin, so this gives me some ideas of places I’ve not been to before, so thank you!

    <3

  12. Heya, not a blogger but like this challenge and make it in pics ^^
    Well so, in sl for 3 year and half now and well i’m maybe a skin whore .. regardless to some comment i’m maybe not rofl
    118 skins in pics but i don’t shoot all the skin tones and don’t shoot the oldies …
    Some are free or dollarbies or huntie ones some are hand made …
    Pics here
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/24484129@N02/5101925276/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/24484129@N02/5102592048/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/24484129@N02/5102138847/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/24484129@N02/5102767102/

    Sio

  13. Hey my Avatar is my main, but my second, that i made. She is 419 Days ols today on the 23th Octobre 2010
    and she has 1515 Skins, if i count every i have . I have skins from : tuli, unbra, curio, TB, mynerva, redgrave, rockberry, SD, Grixdale, laq, mons, dekade, deetalez, atiomicbambi, many asian and japanese , amacci, plasticflower, lelutka, nikita fride, abyss, novita, dutch touch, pink fuel, cstar, dernier cri, glam affair, league, abean, imabee and some of my own.
    I buy them , if i am very tired and i dont want to go to bed, if i am frustated, or if i done something well. XD So shortly. I buy them everyday, everytime. I try demos wher i go and stand . XD I would say , yes . I am a skinwhore alil bit.

Leave a Reply

